We are delighted to announce that Tŷ Pawb has been selected as one of the five finalists for Art Fund Museum of the Year 2022, the world’s largest museum prize.

The other four shortlisted museums are:
Derby Museums, Museum of Making (Derby)
Horniman Museum and Gardens (London)
People’s History Museum (Manchester)
The Story Museum (Oxford)

Art Fund annually shortlists five outstanding museums for the Museum of the Year prize.

The 2022 edition champions organisations whose achievements tell the story museums’ creativity and resilience, and particularly focuses on those engaging the next generation of audiences in innovative ways.


Flying the flag for Wrexham and Wales

Ian Bancroft, Wrexham Council Chief Executive, said: “This is magnificent achievement for Tŷ Pawb and we are extremely proud to be flying the flag for Wrexham and Wales on a shortlist of truly exceptional museums from around the UK.

“Since opening in 2018, Tŷ Pawb has grown to become a thriving cultural attraction which is now nationally recognised as a pioneering example of how a pre-existing building can be successfully repurposed into something new and imaginative.

“Its distinctive offer continues to evolve and expand, while always staying true to its vision of bringing arts, markets and communities together under one roof, inspired by the belief that art can be a tool for social change.”

“The news comes at a hugely exciting time for Wrexham, following our success in reaching the final shortlist of 5 areas bidding to become UK City of Culture in 2025. There is a palpable buzz around the town at the moment, with a compelling few weeks ahead of us.”

‘Superb museums tackling the vital issues of today’

Speaking on behalf of the judges, Jenny Waldman, Director, Art Fund said, “An abundance of applications to be Art Fund Museum of the Year 2022 shows the creativity and resilience of museums right around the country, despite the immense challenges of the last two years. The five superb finalists are all museums on a mission who are tackling the vital issues of today – from combating the climate emergency to improving literacy or exploring migration – and reaching diverse communities as they do so. Each is working hard to encourage the next generation to get involved, both to inspire them and to equip them with essential skills.”

What happens next

The winning museum will be announced at a ceremony at the Design Museum on 14 July and will receive £100,000. The other four shortlisted museums will each receive £15,000 in recognition of their achievements.

The members of this year’s judging panel, chaired by Art Fund Director Jenny Waldman, are: Dame Diane Lees, Director-General, Imperial War Museums; Harold Offeh, artist and educator; Dr Janina Ramirez, cultural historian and broadcaster, and Huw Stephens, BBC Radio 6 DJ and broadcaster. The judges will visit each of the finalists to help inform their decision-making, while each museum will make the most of being shortlisted over the summer through events and activities for both new and current visitors.


Follow Tŷ Pawb on: